Welcome to birmingham.gov.uk

Due to essential maintenance, the website may be unavailable during the weekend. We apologise for any inconvenience.

Welcome to birmingham.gov.uk

Development Strategy

Welcome to the work of Development Strategy

Our services include:

  • Developing transport strategies including: road safety and bus priority schemes, assessing planning applications for their impact on transportation issues for the city and bidding for finance to implement these strategies

  • Delivering and co-ordinating the Transportation Capital Programme

  • Having responsibility for the Birmingham Plan, a long term strategy outlining how land will be used and developed in the city

  • Developing and supporting the implementation of the Economic Strategy


Contact Us

For further information please contact us on:

Development Strategy

David Bull
Assistant Director - Development Strategy
david.bull@birmingham.gov.uk
0121 303 6467


Economic Strategy

Veronica Docherty
Head of Economic Strategy
veronica.docherty@birmingham.gov.uk
0121 303 3818

Planning Strategy

Dave Carter
Head of Planning Strategy
david.carter@birmingham.gov.uk
0121 303 4041

Transportation Strategy

Chris Haynes
Head of Transportation Strategy
chris.haynes@birmingham.gov.uk
0121 303 7421

Transportation Development

Doug Hyde
Head of Transportation Strategy
doug.hyde@birmingham.gov.uk
0121 303 7436

Transportation Projects

Varinder Raulia
Head of Transportation Projects
varinder.raulia@birmingham.gov.uk
0121 303 7363

Climate Change and Sustainability

Sandy Taylor
Head of Climate Change & Sustainability
sandy.taylor@birmingham.gov.uk
0121 303 4026